Stray Brow Hairs, Be Gone

Have you ever looked in the mirror, noticed a few unruly eyebrow hairs (that have most likely been there for weeks), and stopped your day dead in its tracks to figure out how to quickly make your eyebrows shapely again?

I stumbled upon this dilemma a few weeks ago, and realized I had three options. Well, four if you count doing nothing, but let’s face it: once the problem is identified, there’s no way not to notice it.

So I had three options: 1) Tweeze, which I hate doing and can never seem to get right. 2) Get them waxed, which has been my preferred method of brow hair removal, but it was Saturday night and salon options were getting limited. Not to mention I still haven’t found “my” waxer in Kansas City.  And then 3) Brow threading, which I’ve always been kind of curious about, but nervous about all the same.

It just so happened that there was a Brow Threading place near where we were going to be that night, so I decided to give option 3 a try.

If you’ve never hear of brow threading or seen it in action before, the video on this page will help clue you in.

Basically, brow threading works like this:

The brow threader holds a piece of twisted string (kind of like the consistency of dental floss) in her hands, and in her mouth. Using a rhythmic and bobbing motion, she pulls out lines of hair at once at the follicle level.

(thanks for the image, Wikipedia)

After having it done just that one time, here’s what I can say about brow threading:

1) It’s quick. The whole process probably took about 7 minutes from start to finish.

2) Be prepared to be hands-on. Literally. Because the brow threader is using both of her hands, she may ask you to make your eyebrow taut by pulling the lid down, etc.

3) The end result is surprisingly shapely. Usually before I get waxed there’s a consultation about the shape that I want. My girl just jumped right in, but my eyebrows had a good arch at the end.

4) It costs about the same as waxing. I paid $15 before tip, which is about what I’d expect to pay for waxing at the local salons.

5) It kinda hurts. And this would be my only hesitation of getting it done again. Maybe it’s just me, but waxing kinda seems like a walk in the park by comparison. I had tears in my eyes (and a few “rogue” tears streaming across my temples) by the end.

So the question my friends ask me after hearing that I’ve had it done: would you do it again? And I guess the answer to that is, maybe??  Although I did just look in the mirror, and something has to be done again SOON.

One thought on “Stray Brow Hairs, Be Gone

  1. Brow-threading is the most conventional way in India…yes, its a little painful in the beginning but when you get used to it, it will like a walk in the park, yet again!! Oh ofcourse, if you can find someone who has softer hands when threading. Benefits are better than waxing and tweezing.

Leave a Comment